Karma


Karma
(Sanskrit: कर्म , “act, action, performance; Pali: kamma) is the concept of “action” or “deed” in Indian religions understood as that which causes the entire cycle of cause and effect (i.e., the cycle called saṃsāra) originating in ancient India and treated in Hindu, Jain, Sikh and Buddhist philosophies.

The philosophical explanation of karma can differ slightly between traditions, but the general concept is basically the same. Through the law of karma, the effects of all deeds actively create past, present, and future experiences, thus making one responsible for one’s own life, and the pain and joy it brings to him/her and others. The results or ‘fruits’ of actions are called . In religions that incorporate reincarnation, karma extends through one’s present life and all past and future lives as well.

***********************************************************************************
I am a big believer in karma. I am a believer in doing good for others brings joy into your life. I think that there is nothing wrong in believing that you play a hand in your destiny through your actions towards other people. I don’t define my life by karma, but due to recent events maybe i should. I know that i have spent a lot of time looking inside my own head and i have not liked a lot of what i am finding there. I realize as a parent now, i influence the way that they look at things and their reactions in situations.

When they play I can hear them using the same words i use in disciplining them when they aren’t behaving the way they should. I am by no means a perfect parent and my faults by far out weigh the good. I am short on sleep and often times on patience. I could blame it on the fact i get very little sleep or that i want 5 seconds, just 5 seconds to myself to do something. Truth be told, i chose to have kids and i am very blessed with 4 beautiful boys and i am grateful for every single day with them. I need to be more patient and understanding and realize that it is my job to teach them and guide them. I don’t want them to be quick with their tempers and i can already see that happening. So i need to calm myself and remember that for every action there is a reaction and is that the reaction that i want them to have.

One thought on “Karma

  1. Great post. I believe in karma as well, and I think you are a fantastic mother because you reflect on your actions.

    Thank you for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

