Thinking Back

This time of year always causes me to think about high school and old friends. I was fairly lucky in school. I was never part of the “in” crowd, but i had a great group of friends. People that i had known pretty much my whole life in N.C.. I was so very fortunate that the friends i had I still have. I still get together with most of the main group of friends that i had and some of the friends i had lost contact with, are resurfacing.

I feel lucky to have so many good friends in my life. People who have known me for over 20 years. Who have stood by me through all the breakups, embarrassing moments and bad hair (because really wings? what in the WORLD was i thinking). They have always  been there and when i needed space they gave me that too.

I went to a college in another state for my freshman year. It wasn’t because the schools around here weren’t good enough, it was more that i needed to know if i could go off on my own and not freak out. I had always had my friends around and my family, i needed to see if i could be independent.

I could, but i missed everyone terribly. To the point that i drove home each weekend and spent it in the dorms with my friends, old and new.

I always think about all of my friends this time of year because lets face it, I suck at keeping in touch with people now. I can barely match my shoes to my outfit much less form a coherent sentence to send to a friend. I know several friends keep up with me via this blog. Let’s face it, i keep up with me through this blog. So the internet has done some good after all.

I hope and wish for my kids to make friends like i did. To form friendships that have lasted for many years. Friendships that make up a part of who they are. They don’t have to be a part of the high school “in” crowd as long as they fit “in” with their crowd.

To all of my friends who read this. I love you all and thank you for being there for me.

But couldn’t you of least warned my that i had NO idea what i was doing hair-wise? Oh dear lord and the tight capri type pants. It’s a wonder you guys didn’t hide in shame. Oh the horror.

Leave a Reply

